Mid-Atlantic Shared Services Consortium (MASSC)

In the spirit of the “NCI’s Roadmap” the Mid-Atlantic Shared Services Consortium (MASSC) was established to provide our researchers with easy, reciprocal access to the specialized, technical services, equipment and expertise available at the 4 participating institutions.

Each institution provides investigators at consortium member institutions the same pricing researchers at their home institution pay.

This Shared Services consortium is a demonstration of good financial stewardship and collaborative science in action.

3 member institutions manager their cores via the iLab platform. Extending this reciprocal access to our investigators via iLab is just one more means of enhancing the impact of this consortium.

Member Institutions:

  • Georgetown University Lombardi Comprehensive Cancer Center
  • Johns Hopkins Sidney Kimmel Comprehensive Cancer Center
  • University of Maryland Marlene and Stewart Greenebaum Comprehensive Cancer Center
  • University of Virginia Cancer Center

Currently, Georgetown's cores are not managed via the iLab platform but they can be accessed here

Members at Mid-Atlantic Shared Services Consortium

Core Name Primary Contact Email Phone Number/Ext
Biostatistics and Bioinformatics Shared Service

State-of-the-art statistical science, expert statistical analysis and sound statistical reporting

Susan Holt sholt@som.umaryland.edu (410) 706-8505
Confocal Microscopy Core

Equipment and expertise to assist investigators in applying advanced fluorescence microscopy techniques to their research.

Joseph Mauban, PhD jmauban@som.umaryland.edu 410-706-6170
Core for Translational Research in Imaging @ Maryland (CTRIM)

State-of-the-art technology for animal imaging at the molecular, cellular and systemic level. Services for in-vivo and ex-vivo cross-sectional and functional imaging using MRI, MR-g-FUS, PET, and CT.

Jiachen Zhuo jzhuo@umm.edu (410) 328-6443
Electron Microscopy Core Imaging Facility

‌‌‌‌‌Transmission Electron Microscope, Scanning Electron Microscope, SEM CryoTransfer & Chamber, High Pressure Freezer, Freeze Substitution System, Grid Plunger, CryoUltramicrotome, Gatan 626 cryo holder

Ru-Ching Hsia, PhD rhsia@umaryland.edu 410-7067992
Flow Cytometry Core

Sample acquisition on three analytical flow cytometers, expert data analysis, experimental planning and consultation and perform cell sorting on two high speed cell sorters.</p>

Karen Underwood, BS Flowcore@som.umaryland.edu 410-706-2173
Genomics Core Facility - Formerly Biopolymer Core Facility

DNA Sequencing, Cell Line Authentication, Gene Expression Microarray, Genotyping and more

Nicholas Ambulos, PhD nambulos@som.umaryland.edu 410-706-60665
Mass Spectrometry Center

Strives to accelerate discovery by providing investigators, on campus and beyond, access to cutting-edge technologies in mass spectrometry. Expetise from basic biology and medicine to technology development and translational research

Maureen A. Kane mkane@rx.umaryland.edu 410-706-5097
Pathology Biorepository Shared Service (PBSS)

Provides the collection of high quality banked patient samples while maintaining patient confidentiality. PBSS also provides pathology, histology, & histotechnology consultation services to assist principal investigators in the procurement, analyses, & clinicopathologic correlation of human tissue

Ashley Cellini, P.A. (ASCP) acellini@som.umaryland.edu 410-706-2174
Translational Laboratory Shared Service (UMGCC)

Pre-clinical and clinical experimental support to basic researchers and physicians. We work in areas across the entire spectrum: cell biology, in vitro, in vivo and human trials.

Rena Lapidus, PhD RLapidus@som.umaryland.edu 410-328-8092
Core Name Primary Contact Email Phone Number/Ext
Non-iLab, JHU SKCCC Core Facilities

Jeff Smith smithje@jhmi.edu
SKCCC Animal Resources

Sherrie Hawkes shawkes1@jhmi.edu 410-955-2075
SKCCC IRAT Core (Image Response Assessment Team)

Michael Jacobs mjacobs8@jhmi.edu
SKCCC Immune Monitoring Core (formerly Human Immunology)

Christopher Thoburn cthoburn@jhmi.edu 410-955-8568
SKCCC Specimen Accessioning Core

Robin Stewart rstewa43@jhmi.edu 410 502-0674
SKCCC Analytical Pharmacology Core

Michelle Rudek Mrudek2@jhmi.edu 410-614-6321
SKCCC Cell Imaging Facility

Lillian Dasko-Vincent ldaskov1@jhmi.edu 410-614-4414
SKCCC Common Equipment Core

Eric Davis edavisa@jhmi.edu
SKCCC Cytogenetics Core Facility

Laura Morsberger lmorsber@jhmi.edu
SKCCC Experimental Irradiator Core

Esteban Velarde evelard2@jhmi.edu
SKCCC Flow Cytometry Core

Jessica Gucwa jgucwa1@jhmi.edu 410-955-8029
SKCCC Microarray Core

Wayne Yu wyu8@jhmi.edu 410-502-7970
SKCCC Next Generation Sequencing Core

Lauren Ciotti ECGC@jhmi.edu 443-287-7341

University of Virginia

Core Name Primary Contact Email Phone Number/Ext
Advanced Microscopy Facility Stacey Criswell sjm7r@virginia.edu 434-924-2524
BioNMR Facility
Biomolecular Analysis Facility
Biorepository and Tissue Research Facility (BTRF) Craig Rumpel, MS crumpel@virginia.edu 434-982-6453
Flow Cytometry Core Facility FCCF Core Email fccf-staff2@virginia.edu
Genetically Engineered Murine Model (GEMM) Core
Merry X-Ray Leslie Yowell lfy8p@virginia.edu (434) 243-6051
Metabolomics Lipidomics Shared Resource Todd Fox tfox@virginia.edu 434-297-6516
MolMart & Tissue Culture Facility Linda Beggerly lkb7h@virginia.edu 434 924 9211
Molecular Electron Microscopy Core Kelly Dryden kdryden@virginia.edu 434.982.0525
Molecular Imaging Core Jack Roy jrr5a@virginia.edu (434) 243-9232
Office of Research Core Administration Chris Tuck ct7rt@virginia.edu 434-982-6565
SOM Clinical Research Unit (CRU)
Stem Cell Core Veronica Porterfield vp7p@virginia.edu 434-924-1753
Surgical Skills Training Center Dana Davis Sikon dds4g@eservices.virginia.edu 434-924-6854
Search
Clear